top of page


iaedp™ established the certification process to promote standards of excellence within the field of eating disorders.
Certification is for professionals who demonstrate clinical expertise through education, experience.


  • Professional Identity

  • Professional Commitment

  • Promotion of Ethical Standards and Quality Care

  • Increased Consumer Confidence and Recognition

  • Increased Marketability and Competitive Edge

  • Measure of Professional Excellence

  • Professional Growth

  • Personal Satisfaction

  • Dedication to Clinical Advancement

Certification Designations

  • Certified Eating Disorders Specialist (CEDS) for Mental Health Clinicians and Medical Providers

  • Certified Eating Disorders Registered Dietitian (CEDRD) for Registered Dietitians

  • Certified Eating Disorders Registered Nurse (CEDRN) for Registered Nurses

  • Certified Eating Disorders Creative Arts Therapist (CEDCAT) for licensed Dance, Music, Recreation and Art Therapists

Routes to Certification

Traditional Route

  • For independently licensed clinicians with less than 10,000 hours of eating disorders experience who want to pursue advanced expertise to treat eating disorders 

Equivalency Route  

  • Certification for licensed clinicians with significant years of ED experience who meet equivalency standards. 

  • Does not require core courses or proof of personal supervision

  • Currently does not require completion of the certification exam (except RDs)

To Learn More About Certification
bottom of page